Watch Video Reel About E.O. Wilson from the National Geographic Society’s Hubbard Medal Ceremony

In June 2013 scientist and author E.O. Wilson was recognized by the National Geographic Society with the Hubbard Medal—its highest honor—which is awarded for distinction in exploration, discovery, and research. The other recipients in 2013 were oceanographer Sylvia Earle (who serves on the E.O. Wilson Biodiversity Foundation’s Board of Advisors) and explorer and filmmaker James Cameron.

Watch below the video reel about E.O. Wilson, which was shown during the award ceremony at the National Geographic Society’s 125 Anniversary Gala celebration at the National Building Museum in Washington, D.C.

Copyright National Geographic, with footage courtesy of Windfall Films, National Geographic Television, and the Gorongosa Restoration Project

Over the past century, recipients of the Hubbard Medal have included Sir Ernest Shackleton (1910), Charles Lindbergh (1927), John Glenn (1962), and Jane Goodall (1995). It is named for Gardiner Greene Hubbard, the first National Geographic Society president.

You may also be interested in...

Impact Stories

Places for a Half-Earth Future

Recent News

Compare ×
Compare National Report Cards Continue Reviewing